The North Carolina Court System Home
The North Carolina Court System The North Carolina Court System
  Judicial Careers Judicial Directory Judicial Forms Frequently Asked Questions Contact Us Search Search space
Menu Citizens   Mecklenburg County - District 26 Court Picture
Menu Courts
Menu Employees
Appellate DivisionTrial DivisionCourt Resources & ServicesOther Court Officials
Court Picture
   County / Mecklenburg / Staff / District Court Judges  Print  Court Picture
Image Star
Image Star
Image Star
Image Star
Image Star
Image Star
Image Star
Image Star
Dotted Line
District Court Judges
District Court Judges are attorneys elected for each district in non-partisan elections for four years and must reside in the district in which they are elected. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of North Carolina designates one of the judges as Chief District Court Judge, and this judge has administrative duties, including assigning the judges to sessions of court.

Both civil and criminal cases are heard in District Court. The civil district court handles matters dealing with domestic issues such as custody, child support, equitable distribution and divorce actions. For the trial of all civil actions in which the amount in controversy is $25,000 or less district court would be the proper division. Domestic relations cases involving alimony, child support, child custody, divorce, equitable distribution, and juvenile matters are also heard in this court. In criminal cases, District Court has exclusive original jurisdiction over misdemeanor cases and most traffic offenses.

The Chief District Court Judge is The Honorable Regan A. Miller .

Additional District Court Judges:

Hon. Rickye McKoy-Mitchell
Hon. Louis A. Trosch, Jr.
Hon. Becky T. Tin
Hon. Christy T. Mann
Hon. Ronald L. Chapman
Hon. Donnie Hoover
Hon. Paige B. McThenia
Hon. Kimberly Best-Staton
Hon. Elizabeth Thornton Trosch
Hon. Karen Eady-Williams
Hon. Donald R. Cureton, Jr.
Hon. Matthew J. Osman
Hon. Sean P. Smith
Hon. Jena P. Culler
Hon. Ty Hands
Hon. Gary L. Henderson
Hon. David H. Strickland
Hon. Alicia Brooks
Hon. Aretha V. Blake
Court Picture