Image of North Carolina State seal

The Three Branches of Government
There are three branches of government—Legislative, Executive, and Judicial. They are separate, independent and work together in a coordinated way. The Legislative Branch enacts the laws, the Executive Branch enforces the laws, and the Judicial Branch interprets and applies the laws.

There are no local court systems in North Carolina - our court system is one unified statewide system. The State court system is different from the Federal court system. Most people who go to court are in State courts. The State courts handle most of the court work in North Carolina. Federal court handles federal matters and crimes, including crimes that occur on federal land, across state lines, or interstate.
    Back Forward