A driver who fails to comply with a citation or other charge may have his driver's license suspended until the matter is settled. Furthermore, if a court appearance was necessary (usually in the more serious traffic citations, such as DWI, Careless and Reckless, etc.) and the defendant fails to appear, an Order for Arrest will be issued and the defendant may be arrested.
North Carolina is a member of the Nonresident Violator Compact (an agreement among States), which means that if a driver licensed in North Carolina receives a citation or other charge in another state that is also a member of the Compact, and the driver fails to comply with the citation, the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles will suspend the license until the matter is resolved. Similarly, the home state of an out-of-state motorist who fails to comply with a North Carolina traffic ticket will also have his license suspended until the matter is cleared up.
To find out if your traffic citation requires your personal court appearance, please check your copy of the traffic citation or call our office at (910) 814-4601.
If your court appearance was REQUIRED and you FAILED TO APPEAR in court: An Order for Arrest has been issued and, after 20 days, DMV has been notified of your noncompliance. DMV assesses a $50.00 fee and will suspend your license. Since your court appearance was necessary and you failed to appear, you cannot take care of this ticket until the District Attorney agrees to reinstate the charges against you. To do this, you must appear in person, on any Monday or Thursday or Friday before 9:00 a.m. at the District Attorney's Office to request that your case be calendared. If you live in another state, you should contact an attorney practicing in Harnett County, North Carolina -- you can find an attorney by selecting the appropriate links on this page. Hiring an attorney to represent you may save you the time and expense of a personal appearance in court.
If your court appearance was not necessary and you failed to appear in court or pay your fine: Contact the Criminal Division at (910) 814-4601 to find out how much you need to pay. You may simply pay the amount through the mail by certified check or money order.