Superior Court Judges
Superior Court judges are attorneys who are elected for each district for eight-year terms. Superior Court judges must reside in the district in which they are elected, but rotate from one district to another within their division.

Special and emergency judges may also be assigned to particular judicial districts by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of North Carolina. The Senior Resident Superior Court Judge has the most seniority of the Superior Court judges in the district and is responsible for carrying out various administrative duties.

The Superior Court has jurisdiction in both civil and criminal cases. The types of cases that are heard in superior court often require jury trials and deal with various action involving personal injury cases, medical malpractice, contract disputes, and actions in which the amount in controversy exceeds $25,000. There are a few special categories of cases, such as those involving appeals from administrative agencies and constitutional issues, are tried in Superior Court. In criminal cases, the Superior Court has exclusive jurisdiction over all felonies and over misdemeanors appealed from a conviction in District Court.

Honorable Robert H. Hobgood The Honorable Robert H. Hobgood has been the Senior Resident Superior Court Judge in the Ninth Judicial District since 1980, residing in Franklin County. He holds a J.D. from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill and a Master of Judicial Studies from the National Judicial College. Judge Hobgood served in the North Carolina House of Representatives in 1979. He also served as the Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts in 2001.

He is now serving on the Board of Governors of the Law Alumni Association of University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Law, is the Chairman of the Pattern Jury Instruction Committee of the N.C. Conference of Superior Court Judges and is a member of the State Judicial Council representing all Superior Court Judges. In the past, he has served on the Board of Governors of the N.C. Bar Association and the U.N.C.-C.H. Law Foundation.

His community involvement includes Trustee of the Louisburg United Methodist Church and former Assistant Scout Master, Troop 555 Boy Scouts of America and former President of the Louisburg High School Booster Club. He has received the Louisburg College Medallion.

The Honorable Henry W. Hight, Jr. has been a Resident Superior Court Judge in the 9th Judicial District since 1984, residing in Vance County. He holds a J.D. from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill.

His community involvement includes Vance County Bar Association, Ninth Judicial District Bar Association; North Carolina State Bar; North Carolina bar Association; North Carolina Academy of Trial Lawyers; North Carolina Association of Social Services Attorneys; American Bar Association; North Carolina College of Advocacy; State Advisory Council; Legal Services Corporation; The Braxton Craven Inn of Court; Duke University School of Law; Member, The Church of The Holy Innocents (Episcopal); Henderson Jaycees; Henderson BPOE; Coach, baseball and soccer; YMCA and Henderson Recreation Department.

For additional Information or to direct correspondence, you may contact:

Ella S. Wrenn
Superior Court Trial Court Coordinator
102 S. Main Street
Louisburg, NC 27549
Phone: 919 497 4300
Fax: 919 497 4303