District Attorney
The district attorney is an attorney who is elected for a four-year term by the voters within the district he or she serves. District attorneys are not allowed to engage in the private practice of law.

The primary duty of the district attorney is to prosecute all criminal cases filed in the district. The district attorney represents the state in all criminal and some juvenile matters. In addition, the district attorney is responsible for preparing the criminal trial docket and advising law enforcement officers in the district.

Mike Waters is the elected District Attorney for the Ninth Prosecutorial District, which is made up of Granville, Vance, Warren and Franklin counties. He has a staff of 10 Assistant District Attorneys, nine Victim Witness/Legal Assistants, one Administrative Assistant and one Criminal Docket Management Coordinator located throughout the four-county prosecutorial district. The District Attorney's job is to prosecute those charged with criminal offenses in both District and Superior Court.

The Assistant District Attorneys in the Ninth Prosecutorial District are as follows:

Allison S. Capps - Vance
Onica F. Fuller - Warren
Tasha Clay Gardner - Granville
Mark L. Gregory - Granville
William L. Griffin, Jr. - Vance
Benjamin S. Hunter - Vance
Kristin W. Peebles - Franklin
Annette K. Sellars - Franklin
William J. Williamson - Franklin/Warren

The District Attorney's main office is located in Oxford, North Carolina. The telephone and fax numbers for the four offices are as follows:

Granville (919) 690-4860 (919) 690-4861 fax
Vance (252) 430-5110 (252) 430-5111 fax
Warren (252) 257-6310 (252) 257-6311 fax
Franklin (919) 497-4290 (919) 497-42901 fax