Superior Court Judges
Superior Court judges are attorneys who are elected for each district for eight-year terms. Superior Court judges must reside in the district in which they are elected, but rotate from one district to another within their division.

Special and emergency judges may also be assigned to particular judicial districts by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of North Carolina. The Senior Resident Superior Court Judge has the most seniority of the Superior Court judges in the district and is responsible for carrying out various administrative duties.

The Superior Court has jurisdiction in both civil and criminal cases. The types of cases that are heard in superior court often require jury trials and deal with various action involving personal injury cases, medical malpractice, contract disputes, and actions in which the amount in controversy exceeds $25,000. There are a few special categories of cases, such as those involving appeals from administrative agencies and constitutional issues, are tried in Superior Court. In criminal cases, the Superior Court has exclusive jurisdiction over all felonies and over misdemeanors appealed from a conviction in District Court.

The Honorable Paul L. Jones is the Senior Resident Superior Court Judge of District 8-A. Judge Jones received his Juris Doctorate from North Carolina Central University School of Law and his undergraduate degree from North Carolina A&T State University. He was appointed to the position of Superior Court Judge in 1999 and elected to an eight-year term in 2000. Prior to serving on the Superior Court bench, Judge Jones served as a District Court Judge for District 8 (Greene, Lenoir and Wayne Counties), supervising attorney at the North Carolina Central University School of Law Legal Clinic, managing attorney for Eastern Carolina Legal Services, staff attorney with the United States Supreme Court, and an active duty Judge Advocate Officer in the United States Army. Additionally, Judge Jones was in the private practice of law for 12 years. In June, 2000, he retired as a Colonel in the United States Army Reserve.