District Court Judges
District Court Judges are attorneys elected for each district in non-partisan elections for four years and must reside in the district in which they are elected. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of North Carolina designates one of the judges as Chief District Court Judge, and this judge has administrative duties, including assigning the judges to sessions of court.

Both civil and criminal cases are heard in District Court. Generally, the District Court is the proper division for cases involving amounts in controversy of $10,000 or less. Domestic relations cases involving alimony, child support, child custody, divorce, equitable distribution, and juvenile matters are also heard in this court. In criminal cases, District Court has exclusive original jurisdiction over misdemeanor cases and most traffic offenses.

Rowan County District Court Judges

District 19C is served by five District Court Judges. They are from left to right, Judge Beth Dixon, Judge Marshall Bickett, Chief Judge Charlie Brown, Judge Kevin Eddinger, and Judge William Kluttz.

The Chief District Court Judge is The Horonable Charlie Brown