Superior Court Judges
Superior Court Judges are attorneys who are elected for each district in non-partisan elections for eight-year terms. Regular superior court judges must reside in the district in which they are elected, but rotate from one district to another within their division.

Special and emergency judges may also be assigned to particular judicial districts by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of North Carolina. The Senior Resident Superior Court Judge has the most seniority of the superior court judges in the district and is responsible for carrying out various administrative duties.

The Superior Court has jurisdiction in both civil and criminal cases. Generally, civil cases involving more than $10,000 in money and a few special categories of cases, such as those involving appeals from administrative agencies and constitutional issues, are tried in Superior Court. In criminal cases, the Superior Court has exclusive jurisdiction over all felonies and over misdemeanors appealed from a conviction in District Court.

The Senior Resident Superior Court Judge is W. Robert “Bob” Bell.
Bob Bell grew up in Charlotte, NC. After graduating from Independence High School he attended Duke University, earning a Bachelor of Arts degree, and Duke University Divinity School where he earned a Master of Divinity degree. Upon ordination in the United Methodist Church, he served as Director of the Wesley Foundation at Appalachian State University. Judge Bell subsequently attended Wake Forest University School of Law where he earned a Juris Doctor degree. After working several years in the law firm of Womble Carlyle Sandridge and Rice, LLP in Winston-Salem, NC he returned to Charlotte and began serving the public as an Assistant District Attorney in the Mecklenburg County District Attorney's Office. During his tenure in the D.A.'s Office, Bell tried numerous felony cases including homicides, sexual assaults, habitual felons and armed robberies. He was a member of the first homicide team established in the Mecklenburg County District Attorney’s Office. He also was the sole prosecutor assigned the responsibility of litigating arson cases during his tenure there and worked closely with the Charlotte Fire Department Arson Task Force. For the past 17 years Judge Bell has continued his public service from the Superior Court bench.

Lisa C. Bell is a Resident Superior Court Judge .
She was elected to the court on November 4, 2014, to a term commencing on January 1, 2015, and expiring on December 31, 2022. From August 1, 2014, to December 31, 2014, Judge Bell sat on the North Carolina Court of Appeals. She was appointed by Governor Pat McCrory to fill the vacant seat of John C. Martin, who retired Aug. 1, 2014.

Judge Bell also previously served as a special superior court judge for the North Carolina Superior Courts from March 2013 to August 2014, a position which she was also appointed to by Governor McCrory. She previously served as the chief district court judge for the 26th Judicial District of North Carolina. Judge Bell received her undergraduate degree from Wake Forest University and her J.D. degree from the University of North Carolina School of Law. Before she became a judge, Bell spent her legal career in private practice. During this time, she also served as an attorney advocate with the Children's Law Center. In 1998, she became a district court judge for the 26th Judicial District, and in 2009, she became the court's chief judge. Bell was appointed to serve as a special judge on the NC Superior Courts in March 2013.

Carla N. Archie, is a Resident Superior Court Judge .
Judge Carla N. Archie graduated summa cum laude from Hampton University with a bachelor’s of science degree in accounting. She received her Juris Doctorate from the College of William and Mary. Carla is currently senior litigation counsel for Wells Fargo. She began her legal career in 1995 as an assistant district attorney in Charlotte, N.C. In 2002, she joined Wachovia as assistant general counsel. In 2006, she became the deputy executive director of legal and security for the N.C.Education Lottery.

Additional Superior Court Judges are:
Hon. Yvonne Mims Evans
Hon. Linwood O. Foust
Hon. Eric L. Levinson
Hon. Hugh B. Lewis